Scouts BSA

Ad Altare Dei Religious Emblem

Designed for any youth of the Roman Catholic Faith who is registered in a BSA Troop or Crew. Note: To begin working on this award you must have completed the 6th Grade.



Light of Life Religious Emblem

Designed for Boy Scouts, 12 -13 years old. 

  • The “Light is Life” is a program developed for scouts of the Eastern-rite Catholic Churches. Light is Life respects the cultural and ritual differences among the various Eastern Catholic Churches.
  • The overall goal of the Light is Life religious emblem program is to bring about in the Scout, through his Eastern Catholic Scouting experience, a deeper awareness of his share in faith-life. Then going forth, he will witness this life through maturity in communal worship and in Christian formation of his world.
  • This program is to be used by the Eastern Catholic Scouts rather than the Ad Altare Dei program. It is not appropriate to work on both programs.


Pope Pius XII Religious Emblem

Designed for Boy Scouts 15 years old and older (before their 18th birthday). Venture Crew Members (male and female before their 21st birthday).